San Diego to Kampala.

Let’s just say it was a long journey. 

The first half I loved. After two painless flights, I landed in Amsterdam, where it is so incredibly easy to leave the airport and explore the city. I decided to be extra touristy and go on a canal tour, which is a fairly inexpensive way to get a good idea of the city. After the tour a walk, then pancakes and a cappuccino at the most European looking pub I could find. 

Then, there were a couple of hours left to kill at the airport, and if you have to hang out in an airport, Schiphol is the place to be. There’s an art museum, a free library, great food, and lots of big, empty benches for napping. 

<whine>

I wish I could say the same for Nairobi… the airport there is dirty, chaotic, and muggy; and I decided that no matter how nervous I was about getting a visa and a taxi in an unfamiliar place, there is no way I could spend 11 hours in there. Baby elephants and feeding giraffes? Yes please. 

But the Nairobi airport had a different idea, and from 6am to 2pm I waited around in various lines trying to make sure that my bag and myself would make it to Entebbe. As it turns out, all that was for naught because I am in Uganda, but my bag is not. 

</whine> 

At the end of the day, though, I am here. Outside the airport was the smiling face of Moses, best taxi driver ever, holding the sign with my name. After a big delicious dinner of Aloo Palak and a much-needed night’s sleep, I’m getting my internet and coffee fix at the usual spot, and I can’t wait to see the beautiful faces of the women of NUPECA.

Leave a Reply

